The difference between Pride & Confidence (1)

Hi Friends, I missed you all already

Its kind of crazy when you are buried deep solving some brainstorming calculations and suddenly some ideas start popping up everywhere in your head. It was rather frustrating, in fact I was becoming impatient and frustrated. What’s all this! I would moan in fits of frustration.
You see that’s how HS can be sometimes; I had to allow HS to have his way which in turn give birth to this post. I hope it blesses you as it did to me
Enjoy

image

You see The line that distinguishes pride and confidence is often indistinguishable.

From the outside, looking in, it’s like trying to find those tiny thinly fishing line in suspended mid-air. You know it’s there, but unless you find yourself tangled up in it, it’s a line that’s not visible to the naked eye. A line that is so slippery that you won’t event know when are hooked or tangled up in it

To see  that distinguishing fishing line, we will need a piece of contrasting material (a black T-shirt preferably)  placed at the back of the line for it to stand out. Take the contrasting material away, and the line seems to go with it. That contrasting material is what I will refers to as SELF EXAMINATION (I will write on that in another post)

It’s incredibly easy to slide from confidence into pride, from a healthy view of self based on your identity in Christ to an unhealthy perspective of your gifts and abilities. In fact, if you’re not careful, you won’t even realize you’ve made the transition. It takes careful, conscious deliberate and intentionally holding up a contrasting material every now and then  to see this invisible line.

However there is trouble if the line becomes unnoticeable. Especially when a time came that you can’t tell when you’re moving into pride because  leadership will be damaged, poor decisions will be made and many times meaningful and productive relationships are destroyed leaving a chaotic pathway of destruction that will take years to rebuild. Who wants that?

Looking at pride and confidence contrasting each other can be the mirror we can use to tell this important distinction and also the never ending introspective tool called SELF EXAMINATION.

The prideful person
1. It’s very difficult for a prideful person to learn because of the feelings of “Ive don’t this before ” “I’m better than this” “I’ve heard this before” destructive attitude
2. They possess that tendency to blame everything and everybody but themselves, they are not willing to take blame even when they are wrong
3. Pride creates a life of mediocrity
4. A Prideful attention and  focus is always on themselves without respect or regard to others feelings
5. Doesn’t accept others input, but goes at everything alone. They makes decisions in a vacuum.
6.Murmurs and grumbles when being advised/corrected
7. Doesn’t take others into account
8. Craves and pursue public and/or private recognition for the works they’ve done or denigrates others efforts to look good

 The confident person
1. Strong in their identity–someone that really knows who they are
2. Someone that is honest with themselves, they know their strengths and weaknesses
3. Weighs input from others, and moves towards the Truth.Doesn’t proceed through selfish ambitions. (Philippians 2:3-4)
4. Realizes they can’t do it alone, Enjoy working with others.
5. Knows who they are, and who they aren’t. They’re “confident” where God has gifted them.
6. Works to build others up. (Ephesians 4:12-13)
Belief that you can do something

Let not the wise boast of their wisdom or the strong boast of their strength or the rich boast of their riches, but let the one who boasts boast about this: that they have the understanding to know me, that I am the Lord, who exercises kindness, justice and righteousness on earth, for in these I delight,”  declares the Lord.Jeremiah 9:23-24

THIS TOPIC WILL BE CONCLUDED TOMORROW

Question:
Have you ever been accuse of being proud? Why do you think people says so? I’d love to read your opinions in the comment box

Every Blessings,

D’Dream (2016)  Copyrights Reserved

LET CONNECT

Facebook|| Twitter || SUBSCRIBE

14 comments

  1. Hi,
    I know Jacqueline. Thank you for subscribing to my blog! Where did you find my blog, may I ask? I always wonder. Is there a blogging-related question I can answer for you?
    Welcome!
    Janice
    PS I am on vacation, but my normal publication schedule will resume soon. I am still publishing my linky parties in the meantime.
    Janice

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great blog! I think that you did a wonderful job at differentiating the two concepts. I feel as though it is A-okay for an individual to emit confident characteristic and the line is incredibly thin. If I knew of someone struggling with this, I would tell them to practice speaking in a way that is helpful as oppose to speaking in a condescending manner. Not to mention, allowing the other person to speak about themselves, more than you speak about yourself in a conversation helps prevent crossing the line.

    Like

    • awww! ………i’m blushing already! thanks dear. i really appreciate your comments and loved reading them too.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pride is a state of the mind rather than the action itself. Pride is not all about how you carry yourself its about how you perceive who you are. You can look and act all humble and all but your heart is filled with pride. Years ago my aunt walked up to me and was like someone said to her that I have pride and all and my aunt’s response to her was that she doesn’t know who she was talking about. I was so sad that day and so confused, I had to search for the lady who said that but I couldn’t find her. You see I have come to understand that people misunderstand confidence for pride which can be so painful but at of the day there is only one person who can judge and that person is God.

    Liked by 2 people

    • You know I had to read your comment thrice! I totally agreed with your assertion that Pride is truly a state of the mind, the action is simply it expressive arm.
      For one I felt people who felt others are proud have self esteem issues which inadvertently made them feel threatened somehow.
      Yeah it can be rather hurtful when you get to know how people perceived you as being proud. But as you said, only God is the judge.

      I immensely enjoy reading your very insightful opinion on this topic. Thanks very much for coming around.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Great job at differentiating the two! Confidence is always something to strive for, but obviously pride is sinful. It’s nice to see someone lay out the differences clearly. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • Awwwn! Thanks Courtney.
      Yeah pride is truly sinful but it can be so slippery to fall into that we wouldn’t know.
      It wasn’t me that lay out the difference though, HS (HolySpirit) did!
      I love reading and appreciate your comments. Remain ever blessed

      Like

  5. I love the new theme!!
    I’ve been away for long sha, smh at myself. Trust you’re doing great.

    Very insightful post. You made the difference between pride and confidence glaringly clear. I’m not sharing my answers yet. Lemme deal with it first. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Grace,
      Wow! Its been a while and yes thanks for liking my blog theme. Lol you don’t wanna share? Its alright dear.
      Once again I appreciate your thoughtful and beautiful comment. Please try and stay, we truly missed you

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

