#Writing · Poem

The Writers Manifesto

image

I could say that I love to write

But really maybe I like to be read.

A lot.

For too long, my fragile ego

has depended on the affirmation of others.

I have tried in vain

to please my audience (both real and imagined)

and win them ove

Many times impatiently boggling them to read my works

This has plagued me for years.

So I’m giving up.

I’m falling back in love with writing.

With the actual craft.

And not the disease of fame.

I’m kicking my addiction to applause.

And learning to write for myself again.

For a preacher must to preach

Its natural for a sheep to bleat

As it is for wind to blow

Its a futile effort to withhold the rain

And so same for me not to write

This has been both therapeutic and challenging

And I am finding that I am not alone.

Writers everywhere

are rediscovering their first love: writing.

Not tweets

or publishing contracts

or blog comments.

Just writing.

This manifesto is an outstretched hand
to others who feel this same tension
between creativity and congratulations.

To stop Writing to Be Read & Adored

I have to made the decision

To defeat the constant turmoil of finding the approval of others

I cant help but write , it starts Now

To share in the divine gifts

Giving life to the universal thoughts that precede language

Comfy acting the biblical prophetic Ezekiel

Making for them flesh, a great fashioning I see

A creation in precept of the creator’s muse

I am a WRITER

 

 

Every Blessings,

D’Dream (2016)  Copyrights Reserved

LET CONNECT

Facebook|| Twitter || SUBSCRIBE

12 thoughts on “The Writers Manifesto

  1. I have been browsing online more than 4 hours today,
    yet I never found any interesting article like yours.
    It’s pretty worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all website owners
    and bloggers made good content as you did, the net will be much more useful than ever before.

    Like

  2. This is so beautiful! It’s a poem to which I can relate.
    Thanks for sharing.

    I’ve learnt to basically write for myself; to rediscover the art of writing.

    👍👍👍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Now when I say I behave awkward when I’m complimented, y’all see why! I’m just speechless and blushing right here, lolz.

      Thanks so much dear, I really appreciate

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

