#Writing · Motivational · Poem

THE WRITER’S MANIFESTO

 

I’m a writer.

I could say that I love to write.

But really, I like to be read.

A lot.

For too long, my fragile ego

has depended on the affirmation of others.

I have tried in vain

to please my audience (both real and imagined)

and win them over.

This has plagued me for years.

So I’m giving up.

I’m falling back in love with writing.

With the actual craft.

And not the disease of fame.

I’m kicking my addiction to applause.

And learning to write for myself again.

This has been both therapeutic and challenging

And I am finding that I am not alone.

Writers everywhere

are rediscovering their first love: writing.

Not tweets

or publishing contracts

or blog comments.

Just writing.

This manifesto is an outstretched hand

to others who feel this same tension

between creativity and congratulations.

Stop Writing to Be Read & Adored

I cant help but write

 

Every Blessings,

The Lodger (D’Dream)

 

The DreaMedia 2016. All Rights Reserved.

18 thoughts on “THE WRITER’S MANIFESTO

  1. This is such a good point! Once you start writing in hope that others will read it, you start hating it because you don’t think it’s good enough.
    I’ve actually started a blog about my life as a writer if you wanted to check it out and tell me what you think 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

