#Writing · Motivational · Spiritual

Paradox of Eternity

Out! Out! Brief candle
Life’s but a walking shadow,a poor player
That struts and frets it’s hour upon the stage
And then is heard no more.

When I was about thirteen years old, I discovered something that spoke to me more than anything else.

Encarta was the only software my dad installed on my computer for me. So anytime you saw me behind a computer, you knew I was either reading some crazy scientific discoveries, listening to national anthems of countries I didn’t even know existed, reading something scary about the Bermuda triangle,or the mystic disappearance of Amelia Earhart or browsing through creative pieces by some Renaissance writers. 

One of my favorite is the poem at the beginning of this expose. It was written by Shakespeare.
In this poem, he ponders on the brevity of this life, the lightning speed of time and how fast moments pass by. Eternity has always intrigued me. As a Christian, I have always thought about where I would be after this life. This has helped me to prioritize well and have a different perspective on life. Eternity is a long time. But exactly how long is eternity? 

Let me share this story with you.
A powerful and affluent king once lived. He was  bothered by this same question of ‘eternity’. He wanted to know exactly how eternal was eternity. He called for all the philosophers and council members in his courtroom. He posed to them the question that was on his mind

This was the response from one of them.

He said, ” In a very distant land, there existed the tallest mountain in the world. It was ten times as high as the mountain Everest and it was completely made of steel. Once every hundred years, a woodpecker would fly to where the mountain was  and peck on it once with it’s beak and fly off.” 

The king was bewildered.
He continued, ” the bird would have to do this until the whole steel mountain will be pecked off and reduced to ground level.”



The room went wild, the king stood up clapping.

 But the man quickly interrupted.
When this happens, then you would have experienced a second in eternity.”
Just take a second to think about this portrait. 

This story really spoke to me the first time I read it. I’m in my twenties now and looking back on how fast my teenage years have passed has exposed me to a new reality. It is the paradox of eternity. You see, eternity doesn’t just answer the question of how long eternity is but also how short this life is. 

People live their lives with no regards to eternity. We mostly do not consider the eternal consequences of our actions that is why we get into the troubles we get into.

 Business tycoon, Brian Tracy puts it this way,” short term gain leads to long term pain.”



Let’s not even talk about life after death. Our inability to think long term is the cause of debts in the world today. We are always concerned about NOW. 

We like to gratify our short term needs that we overlook the longterm consequences. Fornication and impulsive spending are just two examples.

 The two most common enemies of man is the path of least resistance and the expediency factor.

 The latter states that, ‘People invariably seek the fastest and easiest way to get the things they want, right now, with little or no concern for the long term consequences of their behavior
Shakespeare compares life to a walking shadow. Job compares it to a flower that is here today and gone tomorrow. James, in the Bible also compares life to a mist. Point is, life is short oh. 

My people, whatever we do now affects what happens to us tomorrow. If you want to change the future, you have to start the change from today, and do it now.
I believe in Heaven and I believe in Hell. You can choose to believe it or not. The truth still remains that until you get an ‘eternity’ view of life, you will lose sight of the most important things in life, you will miss out on your purpose on earth and consequently steer yourself into future destruction. 

Think long-term!

Source: SAK Junior

Personally I believe this life is a dress rehearsal for the eternity show;  Because we are made to live forever, our spirit never dies


Every blessing 

©D’Dream 2016. All Rights Reserved 


12 thoughts on “Paradox of Eternity

  1. Wow! I had to go back to re read the paradox and I was wowed. This is an awesome piece truly!
    Thing is once we realize we will also give account to everything done during our lives in earth, we will live better and with intent.

    Like

    1. Lol……..When I first read it too, I had to reread again. I just couldn’t let it go so I had to share with my awesome readers.
      Thanks for reading and commenting.
      Sure if we all lived as we are going to due tomorrow . Maybe the world will be a better place, just maybe

      Like

Leave a Reply

