#lifestyle · #musing · #Writing · 30 Day Blogging Challenge · FBT Series · L.E.D · Life · Spiritual

FBT – Day Three (First Thing First)

Hi friends, hope today has been awesome. Meanwhile on this side  of the planet, it rained heavily. We are in the rainy season over here anyway, more cozy and cool night in view. We have to enjoy and maximise whatever season we are in life. For someone like me, this is one of my best season – I love rain and the smell of petrichor.

I am excited and priviledge to share with you another truth on the #Fbt Series. We are on day three.

Yesterday, I discussed about being rooted and grounded in Love. You can read it up here if you missed it.

Today I will discussing with you guys another aspect of Love (the God kind). And in such doing, It is important we out First thing first, Which is Loving God

You may be thinking but I love God. I go to church as often as I can, I try to study my bible everyday, I gave offerings, pay my tithe, helps the less privilege ………………..e.t.c. I know, but Do you love God?

I still want to ask you the same question, the question likeable to get you angry and self defensive – Do you love Him?

This was the same question Jesus asked Apostle Peter. Yes, that same Peter that swore to die for Jesus, the same mighty Peter that deny his own Boss when the seat becomes hot and unbearable. In John 21:15 we read “So when they had dined, Jesus saith to Simon Peter, Simon, son of Jonas, lovest thou me more than these? He saith unto him, Yea, Lord; thou knowest that I love thee. He saith unto him, Feed my lambs”

I can guess that Jesus was pointing and referring to the boats and fishes ( in modern times these would be Job, Career, Bank Accounts, Husband and the likes) while asking Peter that question. Jesus was saying ‘Do you love me than your friends? Do you love me than your Job? Do you love me than your Spouse? Do you love me than the anointing and gifts? Do you love me?

Peter was somewhat angry and self defensive at the repetition of the same question, but he understood what Jesus meant, especially when Jesus asked that question three times. It shows the important of the question Jesus was asking. The same question, Jesus is asking you today, do you love me?

First thing first in becoming a fruit bearing tree is to Love God. How? Mark 12:30 point the way, it says “And thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind, and with all thy strength: this is the first commandment”

Hope you didnt miss anything reading that scripture?

Let me break it down. 

First it says we are to love God with our soul, then our mind and next our strength. Does this sound like a peasy easy thing to do? It conclude by saying ” This is the first commandment”. The bottom line is simply this: Total abandonment to loving Jesus. That is loving God above all else including your job, career, friends, children and even your spouses. Hey I didn’t say that, the last statement before this isn’t mine but that of Apostle Luke in Luke 14:26If any man come to me, and hate not his father, and mother, and wife, and children, and brethren, and sisters, yea, and his own life also, he cannot be my disciple”

Uhn?? What is not Jesus that says we should love our neighbour as ourselves. Hate is a strong word but here we saw saying that word here. Does it not sound like He is contradicting Himself? I don’t think so, He is simply demanding total love devotion. From the sole love devotion we have for him, we spilled over same to our loved ones and the world at large. He is to be our only source and object of love. Everything and every other person is secondary.

I read a story about a reputable christian leader who God told not to speak with anybody except Him for complete 3 days. This pastor is not even permitted to speak to his own wife and Children. It was a difficult situation, of course his wife was hurt when he explained to her about what God told him but then this pastor has to obey. Imagine not speaking to your love ones for complete three days while living under the same roof. It was a difficult instruction but it was this man love for God that propels him yo obey. The truth is how many of us can do that?

Sometimes agod will take some things and some people out of your life which seem to have been hindering your absolute Love for him. He is a firecely Jealous Lover.  So in essence, loving God and serving Him are mutually inclusive and exclusive at the same time. We ought to serve and obey Him because we love Him and not the other way round.

Therefore in cultivating the fruits of the Spirit, the first and important truth is Loving God with every of our being? Ask God for the empowerment to love him and not the things and gifts He bestowes. The love journey isn’t going to be all smooth and rosy, ask Abraham and all the Bible Characters but it offers a lot in return. Your love for him will be tested so get ready. When we love God, many of those things that bothers us so much lose their values and place.

Remember God didn’t send his Son to die for things, He sent His Son to die for You. He want you and I mean all of you, nothing else will He have. His gifts and blessings are a spillover of His Love for us.

The verses of scripture below paints a glaring picture of the length we sometimes have to go to show how much we love Him 
Song of Solomon 3:1-4
[1]By night on my bed I sought him whom my soul loveth: I sought him, but I found him not.
[2]I will rise now, and go about the city in the streets, and in the broad ways I will seek him whom my soul loveth: I sought him, but I found him not.
[3]The watchmen that go about the city found me: to whom I said, Saw ye him whom my soul loveth?
[4]It was but a little that I passed from them, but I found him whom my soul loveth: I held him, and would not let him go, until I had brought him into my mother’s house, and into the chamber of her that conceived me.

Shalom!

D’Dream

©TheDreamMedia. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

